Ramset .22 Blank Cartridge Shortage?

Today Raleigh Constitutent writes to advise of an unusual problem he has run across:

***********************************
Dear John Jacob,
As you know a Ramset is a powder actuated tool ie a nail gun used to set concrete nails with a projectileless .22 rimfire blank cartridge.

The cartridges are graded in strength by color-brown designates low power and yellow designates as much force as I usually need. I usually buy a box of one hundred of the various colors which keeps me supplied for 1-2 months so I can restock periodically without a panic attack at any particular time.

Imagine my surprise when I discovered several different Lowe’s Lumber Yards were completely out of all grades of the .22 caliber blanks. Whether this is related to the economy or the ammo shortage is anyone’s guess. I will keep checking at various hardware stores and Home Depots and etc.
****************************************

Anyone out there use Ramset .22 cartridge blanks? Is this a restocking problem, a regional shortage or something more widespread?

2 responses to “Ramset .22 Blank Cartridge Shortage?

  1. I’m looking for the highest power 22 cal blanks possible. Olin used to make a 22 cal blank that was purple on the end. Anyone know where I can find a similar high power
    blank?

Leave a Reply

